Interface concept and frontend development for SES Platform Services

BackgroundMany services, one platform under development

SES Fluid should be a service platform that enables different user groups to achieve their goals. The basis for the platform was a cloud-computing service based on the existing CMS infrastructure, enabling customers to manage, enrich, transcode and deliver video content from anywhere in the world via a unified, intelligently designed, state-of-the-art front-end.

Project DescriptionEnrich, manage, transcode and deliver

The basis of the service should consist of three components:

The library: Media Asset Management was a basic requirement for other services. Media objects had to be added, managed and enriched.

Ticketing / Collaboration: The procedural work on the platform is organized by an order system, in this context to be understood as ticketing. It enables the management of intentions and their joint processing in the group.

Toolbox / Workbench: The individual components of the platform serve the purpose of being able to complete tasks. Therefore specialized tools are offered, which are optimized for different user groups and organized in individual products.

FeaturesShared UI for modular products

The idea of modularity should also be continued in the UI. Products should ideally be complementary to each other.

Therefore we aimed for a model of the "Shared UI" for the interface. Individual components function in a self-contained manner and can be used in other contexts. A product thus consists of its own components, specifically created for the use case, and shared components.

Mental spaces formed a guideline for the assignment of concrete user stories and resulting functions. The mental model should serve the correct assignment of new ideas & requirements throughout the entire product life cycle. Therefore, the creation of mental spaces had to have a certain robustness.

Dark / Light Theme

While dark interface colours are common for production environments in the media industry, users at office workstations prefer a surface that is also adapted to the brighter ambient light.

For SES Fluid, dimensional developed a dark theme and a light theme to provide a more pleasant and expected user experience for different users in different environments.

Interface-Konzept und Frontend-Entwicklung für SES Platform Services

HintergrundViele Services, eine Plattform in Entwicklung

SES Fluid sollte im Kern eine Service-Plattform darstellen, die es verschiedenen Nutzergruppen ermöglicht ihre Ziele zu erreichen. Die Basis für die Plattform stellte ein cloud-computing Service aufbauend auf der bestehenden CMS-Infrastruktur dar, der Kunden das Managen, Anreichern, Transcoden und Ausliefern von Videoinhalten über ein einheitliches, intelligent gestaltetes, modernes Frontend von überall auf der Welt aus ermöglicht.

ProjektbeschreibungAnreichern, Managen, Transcoden und Ausliefern

Die Basis des Services sollte aus drei Komponenten bestehen:

Die Bibliothek Media Asset Management war eine Grundvorraussetzung für andere Services. Medien Objekte mussten hinzugefügt, verwaltet und angereichert werden können.

Ticketing / Kollaboration Die prozedurale Arbeit auf der Plattform ist organisiert durch ein Auftragssystem, in diesem Zusammenhang als Ticketing zu verstehen. Es ermöglicht die Verwaltung von Intentionen und deren gemeinsame Bearbeitung in der Gruppe.

Toolbox / Workbench Die einzelnen Komponenten der Plattform dienen dem Zweck Aufgaben erledigen zu können. Daher werden spezialisierte Werkzeuge angeboten, die ggf. auf unterschiedliche Nutzergruppen optimiert und in einzelnen Produkten organisiert sind.

FeaturesShared UI für modulare Produkte

Der Gedanke der Modularität sollte auch im UI fortgeführt werden. Produkte sollten sich idealerweise komplementär zueinander verhalten. 

Daher strebten wir für das Interface ein Modell des “Shared UI” an. Einzelne Komponenten funktionieren in sich geschlossen und können in anderen Kontexten benutzt werden. Ein Produkt besteht somit aus eigenen, für den Use Case spezifisch erstellten, Komponenten und geteilten Komponenten.

Mentale Räume bildeten einen Leitfaden für die Zuordnung von konkreten User Stories und daraus resultierenden Funktionen. Das Mentale Modell sollte über den gesamten Produkt Lebenszyklus hinweg der richtigen Zuordnung von neuen Ideen & Anforderungen dienen. Daher musste die Anlage der Mentalen Räume eine gewisse Robustheit besitzen. 

Dark / Light Theme

Während für die Produktionsumgebungen in der Medienbranche dunkle Interfacefarben verbreitet sind bevorzugen Nutzer an Büroarbeitsplätzen eine Oberfläche, die auch an das hellere Umgebungslicht angepasst ist.

Für SES Fluid wurde daher von dimensional ein Dark-Theme und ein Light-Theme entwickelt, um den unterschiedlichen Nutzern in den jeweiligen Umgebungen ein angenehmeres und erwartungskonformes Benutzererlebnis bieten zu können.