IQWiG | informedhealth.orgUX design and CMS development for the health portal informedhealth.org

Project DescriptionProject Description

The health portal informedhealth.org is administered by the Institute for Efficiency and Quality in Health Care (IQWiG) and provides specialist medical information prepared for laypersons following the principle of evidence-based medicine. 

ObjectiveComprehensible, detailed, independent: Health knowledge you can rely on

With the publication of informedhealth.org, the Institute for Quality and Efficiency in Health Care (IQWiG) fulfils part of its legal mandate to educate the public on health issues. The website addresses a broad range of topics to both sick and healthy citizens. The website aims to help people with understanding the advantages and disadvantages of important treatment options and health care services. 

Create transparency, facilitate decisions

The conceptual and technical tasks, which were set by dimensional, were to present IQWiG's wealth of information on the Internet in a user-friendly, clear and appealing design. The portal was designed and implemented completely barrier-free. The technical, conceptual and design development is ongoing.

dimensional was involved in the early phase and after IQWiG's foundation, when the planning for the project informedhealth.org began. With the close involvement of the stakeholders, we accompanied the orientation of the Department of Patient Information and developed the name, logo and corporate design. The subsequent basic design of the portal with the person responsible at the time (Hilda Bastian) later became the basis for the tender for the implementation of the final concept, design and technology.

Public education. Without barriers.

The website is designed to be barrier-free and complies with WCGA standards. This is because the health information should be accessible to as many people as possible - including people with physical disabilities such as reduced eyesight. For example, the website can be accessed without the use of Javascript.

In close cooperation with informedhealth.org, we are continuously developing the website, ensuring that we remain close to the user and his or her expectations. dimensional also provides technical support, maintenance and operation of the website.

Voices on informedhealth.org

After the successes at the BIENE Awards (2009 silver, 2010 gold), the Cologne-based internet agency dimensional GmbH is honored to be featured in the 95+ recommended agencies list of the BIK with the project informedhealth.org: www.bitvtest.de/sites_und_agenturen/empfehlenswerte_agenturen/dimensional_gmbh.html.

"Congratulations on the good result. With such an elaborate offer, the level of accessibility achieved is already a special feature." congratulates Detlef Girke (Accessibility consultant at BITV-Consult), who was responsible for the exam.

"Since there are no more BIENE Awards at the moment, the BIK test is the "de facto standard" for the independent examination of accessibility according to BITV. All the more we are pleased about the good evaluation of our work", states the managing director André Schnitzler.

The project manager Roger van Lunteren adds: "We may accompany the institute for quality and economy in the health service now already since 2005. I would like to thank our client for the trust they have placed in us for many years and my colleagues for their good work, which led to this excellent evaluation".

"Gesundheitsinformation.de proves that high design quality, an implementation optimised for mobile devices ("responsive design") and the highest level of accessibility do not have to be mutually exclusive if it is designed correctly from the outset". Prof. Oliver Wrede (Director Concept & Design).

IQWiG | gesundheitsinformation.deUX Design und CMS Entwicklung für das Gesundheitsportal gesundheitsinformation.de

ProjektbeschreibungProjektbeschreibung

Das Gesundheitsportal gesundheitsinformation.de wird vom Institut für Wirtschaftlichkeit und Qualität im Gesundheitswesen (IQWiG) verwaltet und stellt laiengerecht aufbereitete medizinische Fachinformationen zur Verfügung, die dem Prinzip evidenzbasierter Medizin folgen. 

ZielsetzungVerständlich, detailliert, unabhängig: Gesundheitswissen auf das man sich verlassen kann

Mit der Veröffentlichung von Gesundheitsinformation.de erfüllt das Institut für Qualität und Wirtschaftlichkeit im Gesundheitswesen (IQWiG) einen Teil seines gesetzlichen Auftrages zur Aufklärung der Öffentlichkeit in gesundheitlichen Fragen. Die Website richtet sich mit einem breiten Themenspektrum an erkrankte wie gesunde Bürgerinnen und Bürger. Gesundheitsinformation.de soll helfen, Vor- und Nachteile wichtiger Behandlungsmöglichkeiten und Angebote der Gesundheitsversorgung zu verstehen. 

Transparenz schaffen, Entscheidungen erleichtern

Die konzeptionellen und technischen Aufgaben, die sich dimensional gestellt hat, sahen vor die vielen Informationen des IQWiGs nutzerfreundlich, übersichtlich und gestalterisch ansprechend im Internet zu präsentieren. Das Portal wurde vollständig barrierefrei konzipiert und umgesetzt. Die technische, konzeptionelle und gestalterische Weiterentwicklung ist fortlaufend.

dimensional war bereits in der Frühphase und nach der Gründung des IQWiG involviert, als die Planungen für das Projekt gesundheitsinformation.de begannen. Wir haben unter enger Einbeziehung der Stakeholder die Ausrichtung des Ressorts Patienteninformation begleitet sowie Name, Logo und Corporate Design entwickelt. Die daran anschließende grundsätzliche Auslegung des Portals mit der damaligen Verantwortlichen (Hilda Bastian) wurde dann auch später Basis für die Ausschreibung der Umsetzung von finalem Konzept, Design und Technik.

 

Aufklärung der Öffentlichkeit. Ohne Barrieren.

Die Website ist barrierefrei gestaltet und entspricht den WCGA Standards. Denn die Gesundheitsinformationen sollen für möglichst viele Menschen zugänglich sein – auch für Personen mit körperlichen Einschränkungen wie einer verminderten Sehfähigkeit. So kann die Website beispielsweise ohne die Verwendung von Javascripten aufgerufen werden. 

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit gesundheitsinformation.de entwickeln wir die Website kontinuierlich weiter und stellen so sicher, dass wir nah am Nutzer und seinen Erwartungen bleiben. Dabei übernimmt dimensional auch den technischen Support sowie Wartung und Betrieb der Website.

Stimmen zu gesundheitsinformation.de

Die Kölner Internetagentur dimensional GmbH freut sich nach den Erfolgen beim BIENE Award (2009 Silber, 2010 Gold) sehr über diese Auszeichnung und darüber, mit dem Projekt Gesundheitsinformation.de in der „Liste 95+“-Agenturen des BIK vertreten zu sein: www.bitvtest.de/90plus/agenturen/dimensional_gmbh.html.

Herzlichen Glückwunsch zu dem guten Ergebnis. Bei einem so aufwendigen Angebot ist der erreichte Grad der Barrierefreiheit schon eine Besonderheit.“ gratuliert Detlef Girke (Accessibility-Berater bei BITV-Consult), der für die Prüfung verantwortlich zeichnete.

Nachdem zur Zeit keine BIENE Awards mehr durchgeführt werden, stellt der BIK Test den „de facto Standard“ für die unabhängige Prüfung der Barrierefreiheit nach BITV dar. Umso mehr freuen wir uns über die gute Bewertung unserer Arbeit.„, stellt der Geschäftsführer André Schnitzler fest.

Der Projektleiter Roger van Lunteren ergänzt: „Wir dürfen das Institut für Qualität und Wirtschaftlichkeit im Gesundheitswesen nun schon seit 2005 begleiten. Unserem Kunden danke ich für das langjährige Vertrauen und meinen Kollegen für die gute Arbeit, die zu dieser hervorragenden Bewertung führte.

Gesundheitsinformation.de beweist, dass sich eine hohe Designqualität, eine für mobile Devices optimierte Umsetzung („responsive design“) und ein höchstes Maß an Barrierefreiheit nicht ausschließen müssen, wenn es von Anfang an richtig konzipiert wird.“ Prof. Oliver Wrede (Director Concept & Design).