AOK - Die Gesundheitskasse | Online Communication Online communication for AOK - the largest public German health insurance

Background One brand - diverse online media

Under the brand ┬╗AOK - Die Gesundheitskasse┬ź, eleven regional health insurance companies are organised on a federal basis. Together, they insure about 26 million people. The AOK community communicates to insured persons, employers and service providers via a joint portal at aok.de.

On behalf of the AOK federal association, dimensional advised the AOK community on questions of conception and design for online media: this included portals, some campaigns, various online coaches and programs and the brand portal of the AOK community.

In addition to user experience design of the various websites, dimensional's consulting also took place in the context of many other topics, such as:
online strategy, communication, online services, digital brand management and online campaigns, user research, analyses, content strategy, structural concepts, consulting in connection with editorial processes and quality assurance for content management.

Challenges A joint presentation for eleven companies

The different requirements from the AOK community, working groups and committees were regularly transferred homogeneously into integrating design concepts and synchronized in dialogue with the various service providers involved.

The particular challenge here was to find a sensible balance between the joint activities of the AOKs and the special features and needs of the respective AOK in the region at the various levels involved.

In the various projects, dimensional's team worked on behalf of the AOK federal association with numerous service providers for technical implementation, user research and editorial conception.

Objectives A flexible approach to change

In 2013, the AOK wanted to create a technical infrastructure in order to implement cross-domain content management in the long term. The private customer portal at aok.de was the first important use case here.

The concept developed by dimensional provided for a separation of content and presentation. An overarching principle for structuring the content via metadata, the template components and the editorial building blocks, allowed the design to be further developed at will within the existing system.

AOK - Die Gesundheitskasse | OnlinemedienOnline-Kommunikation für die AOK-Gemeinschaft

HintergrundEine Dachmarke – vielfältige Onlinemedien

Unter der Dachmarke »AOK – Die Gesundheitskasse« sind heute elf regionale Krankenkassen föderal organisiert. Zusammen versichern sie ca. 26 Millionen Menschen. Die AOK-Gemeinschaft kommuniziert über ein gemeinsames Portal unter aok.de an Versicherte, Arbeitgeber und Leistungserbringer.

Im Auftrag des AOK-Bundesverbands berät dimensional die AOK-Gemeinschaft in Fragen der Konzeption und Gestaltung für die Onlinemedien: darunter fallen Portale, einige Kampagnen, verschiedene Online-Coaches und -Programme und das Markenportal der AOK-Gemeinschaft.

Neben dem User Experience Design der verschiedenen Websites findet die Beratung von dimensional auch statt im Kontext von Themen wie Online-Strategie, Kommunikation, Online-Services, digitale Markenführung und Online-Kampagnen, Nutzerforschung, Analysen, Content-Strategie, Strukturkonzepte, Beratung im Zusammenhang redaktioneller Prozesse, Qualitätssicherung zum Content-Management.

HerausforderungEin gemeinsamer Auftritt für elf Unternehmen

Die unterschiedlichen Anforderungen aus der AOK-Gemeinschaft, den Arbeitsgruppen und Gremien werden regelmäßig in integrierende Designkonzepte homogen überführt und im Dialog mit verschiedenen beteiligten Dienstleistern synchronisiert.

Die besondere Herausforderung ist hierbei, auf den verschiedenen betroffenen Ebenen, einen sinnvollen Ausgleich zu finden zwischen der gemeinsamen Aktivität der AOKs und den Besonderheiten und Bedürfnissen der jeweiligen AOK in der Region.

In den verschiedenen Projekten arbeitet das Team von dimensional im Auftrag des AOK-Bundesverbandes mit zahlreichen Dienstleistern für die technische Umsetzung, die Nutzerforschung und die redaktionelle Konzeption zusammen.

ZielsetzungEin flexibles Konzept für den Wandel

Die AOK wollte 2013 eine technische Infrastruktur schaffen, um langfristig domänenübergreifendes Content-Management zu realisieren. Das Privatkundenportal unter aok.de war hier der erste wichtige Anwendungsfall.

Das von dimensional entwickelte Konzept sah eine Trennung von Inhalten und der Präsentation vor. Ein übergreifendes Prinzip zur Strukturierung der Inhalte über Metadaten, der Template-Bestandteile und der redaktionellen Bausteine, erlaubt eine beliebige Weiterentwicklung des Designs innerhalb der bestehenden Systematik.