vizrt | NISVResearch portal for the Netherlands Institute for Sound and Vision

Initial situationA digital archive for schools and universities

The Netherlands Institute for Sound and Vision (NISV) was founded in Hilversum in June 1997 and is one of the largest audiovisual collections in Europe. At the beginning of the project there were two portals for the educational use of audiovisual media: "Teleblik" and "Academia".

Both platforms were aimed at different user groups (from primary school to university). Although they both used common services such as Media Asset Management and streaming servers, they were not integrated. NISV wanted to replace the existing portals with a uniform and integrated solution.

The new portal now allows members of educational institutions to search the public holdings of the archive. With the search results, users can compile their own playlists (so-called montages) and then share them with others or use them in their own presentations.

Project DescriptionUser-friendly research, editing and sharing

The media offered in the "Beeld en Geluid op School" should be used - but should not include the download of the media for use. Therefore, a good possibility of compiling research results was created for use, which can be used via embedding options in teaching materials and homework.

As a special function the portal therefore offers the possibility to fragment and assemble or arrange found objects. In addition, the editorial staff of the NISV has the possibility to prepare thematic collections at the suggestion of the users and publish them in the form of so-called "dossiers" on individual topics.

Features»Lists«, »Dossiers« und »Highlights«

Since the front end of the Open Media Portal is aimed at pupils and students as well as lecturers and editorial administrative users, the user interface must cover a wide range of user needs. Simple research and preparation of more complex content in the form of dossiers or collages are made possible by a uniform user interface. 

FeaturesUsers become curators

In addition to simply cutting clips, users of the Open Media Portal have the option of creating a montage from a selection of researched clips. The surface for the creation of montages was developed in collaboration with the authors and editors of the NISV.

vizrt | NISVRechercheportal für das Niederländische Institut für Bild und Ton

AusgangslageEin digitales Archiv für Schulen und Universitäten

Das Netherlands Institute for Sound and Vision (NISV) wurde im Juni 1997 in Hilversum gegründet und gehört zu den größten audiovisuellen Sammlungen Europas. Zu Projektbeginn gab es zwei Portale für die pädagogische Nutzung von audiovisuellen Medien: »Teleblik« und »Academia«.

Beide Plattformen richteten sich an unterschiedliche Nutzergruppen (von der Grundschule zur Universität). Sie nutzten zwar beide gemeinsame Dienste wie das Media Asset Management und Streaming-Server, waren aber nicht integriert. NISV wollte die bestehenden Portale durch eine einheitliche und integrierte Lösung ersetzen.

Das neue Portal erlaubt nun den Angehörigen von Bildungseinrichtungen eine Recherche im öffentlichen Bestand des Archivs. Mit den Rechercheergebnissen können die Anwender eigene Playlisten (sogenannte Montagen) zusammenstellen und anschließend mit anderen teilen oder in eigenen Präsentationen nutzen.

ProjektbeschreibungNutzerfreundlich recherchieren, bearbeiten und teilen

Die im »Beeld en Geluid op School« angebotenen Medien sollten zwar genutzt – für die Nutzung aber nicht den Download der Medien beinhalten. Für die Nutzung wurde daher eine gute Möglichkeit der Zusammenstellung von Rechercheergebnissen geschaffen werden, welche über Einbettungsoptionen in Unterrichtsmaterialien und Hausarbeiten genutzt werden können.

Als besondere Funktion bietet das Portal daher die Möglichkeit Fundstücke zu fragmentieren und zu montieren bzw. arrangieren. Darüber hinaus hat die Redaktion des NISV die Möglichkeit auf Vorschlag der Nutzer thematische Sammlungen aufzubereiten und in Form von sogenannten »Dossiers« zu einzelnen Themen zu veröffentlichen.

Features»Lists«, »Dossiers« und »Highlights«

Da sich das Frontend des Open Media Portals an Schüler und Studenten sowie an Dozenten und redaktionell administrative Nutzer richtet, muss die Nutzeroberfläche ein großes Spektrum an Nutzerbedürfnissen abdecken. Einfache Recherche und Aufbereitung von komplexeren Inhalten in Form von Dossiers oder Collagen werden über ein einheitliches User Interface ermöglicht. 

FeaturesNutzer werden zu Kuratoren

Im Open Media Portal haben die Nutzer neben dem einfachen Zuschneiden von Clips die Möglichkeit, aus einer Auswahl von recherchierten Clips eine Montage zu erstellen. Die Oberfläche für die Erstellung von Montagen wurden in Zusammenarbeit mit den Autoren und Redakteuren des NISV entwickelt.