arvato | Media PortalRedesign and technical realignment of the Media Asset Management System from arvato

Initial situationNew development of a MAM frontend based on HTML5 & JavaScript

The goal of this project was to replace the interface of the VPMS Media Asset Management System of Arvato Systems S4M GmbH, which is based on the Silverlight browser plug-in, with a modern HTML5-based web application and to align the user interface more closely with the users' workflows.

In dialogue with users an alternative user interface concept was developed. In a first step, the user interface was designed to meet the needs of editors who regularly perform complex searches in preparation for their articles and then need to be continuously informed about new hits.

Process of conceptionHuman-centered Design

In the course of the new development the VPMS should not simply be copied. Rather, the client was interested in fundamentally rethinking the historically grown user interface of the VPMS system and adapting it to the needs of very different users.

The first important application scenario chosen was the regular research activities of the editors. On the one hand, a new design could be formulated for the search and presentation results. Then the technical implementation was prepared and accompanied.

dimensional thus supported Arvato Systems S4M GmbH in the conception, the orientation of the product, the design of corresponding interfaces and selectively also in the development of the technical prototype.

Design solutionA modern interface for everyday use.

On the basis of the user-centred concept, a modern and appealing user interface was created. Everyday use by editors was the main focus of the design, so that essential operating elements could be found more quickly and were easier to use.
A comprehensive interaction concept ensures clear structures and intuitive learnability.


An essential innovation to simplify the standard workflow of users is the faceted search. The search for media files in the TV sector is subject to many conditions and criteria. In addition, in the old infrastructure, different applications searched different databases, so that the collection of found material could not take place easily and unambiguously.

Technical objectiveA robust and scalable framework as objective

On the basis of an individual client framework as a single-page application in Silverlight, an application framework was created that allows generic and customer-specific modules to be developed and integrated into an application. Thereby dimensional was able to meet different challenges appropriately.

arvato | Media PortalRedesign und technische Neuausrichtung des Media Asset Management Systems von arvato

AusgangslageNeuentwicklung eines MAM-Frontends auf Basis von HTML5 & JavaScript

Das Ziel dieses Projekts war es, die auf dem Browser-Plugin Silverlight basierende Oberfläche des VPMS Media Asset Management Systems der Arvato Systems S4M GmbH durch eine zeitgemäße HTML5-basierte Webanwendung zu ersetzen und die Benutzeroberfläche stärker an den Workflows der Nutzer auszurichten.

Im Dialog mit Nutzern wurde ein alternatives User-Interface-Konzept entwickelt. Im ersten Schritt wurde die Oberfläche an den Bedürfnissen von Redakteuren ausgerichtet, die zur Vorbereitung ihrer Beiträge regelmäßig komplexe Suchen durchführen und anschließend auch fortlaufend auf neue Treffer hingewiesen werden müssen.

Konzeptionsprozessnutzerzentriertes Design

Im Zuge der Neuentwicklung sollte das VPMS nicht einfach nur nachgebaut werden. Vielmehr bestand das Interesse seitens des Auftraggebers, das historisch gewachsene User Interface des VPMS-Systems grundsätzlich neu zu denken und an die Bedürfnisse sehr unterschiedlicher Nutzer anzupassen.

Als erstes wichtiges Anwendungsszenario wurde hier die regelmäßige Recherchetätigkeit der Redakteure gewählt. Für die Suche und Präsentationsergebnisse konnte zum einen ein neues Design formuliert werden. Anschließend wurde die technische Umsetzung vorbereitet und begleitet.

dimensional unterstützte die Arvato Systems S4M GmbH somit bei der Konzeption, der Ausrichtung des Produkts, dem Design entsprechender Schnittstellen und punktuell auch bei der Entwicklung des technischen Prototypen.

DesignlösungEin modernes Interface für den Alltagsgebrauch.

Auf Basis der nutzerzentrierten Konzeption entstand ein modernes und ansprechendes User Interface. Der Alltagsgebrauch durch Redakteure stand bei der Gestaltung im Vordergrund, so dass wesentliche Bedienelemente schneller auffindbar und einfacher zu bedienen sind. Ein umfangreiches Interaktionskonzept sorgt für klare Strukturen und eine intuitive Erlernbarkeit.


Eine wesentliche Neuerung zur Vereinfachung des Standard-Workflows der Nutzer ist die facettierte Suche. Die Suche nach Mediendateien unterliegt im TV Bereich vielen Bedingungen und Kriterien. Hinzu kam in der alten Infrastruktur, dass verschiedene Applikationen verschiedene Datenbanken durchsuchten und so die Sammlung von gefundenem Material nicht einfach und eindeutig stattfinden konnte.

Technische ZielsetzungEin robustes und skalierbares Framework als Zielsetzung

Auf Basis eines individuellen Client-Frameworks als Single-Page Applikation in Silverlight entstand ein Application-Framework, das es ermöglicht, generische und kundenspezifische Module zu entwickeln und in einer Applikation einzubinden. Dabei konnte dimensional unterschiedlichen Herausforderungen angemessen begegnen.